Group of the periodic table

What are the groups of the periodic table?

The periodic table of elements consists of a total of 18 groups, divided into eight main groups (Alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, boron group, carbon group, nitrogen group, chalcogens, halogens and noble gases) and ten subgroups (Copper group, zinc group, scandium group, titanium group, vanadium group, chromium group, manganese group, iron group, cobalt group, nickel group). Accordingly, each column in the periodic table forms an independent group. Within a group, all chemical elements have the same number of external electrons (valence electrons).